Rio day 6 night time

As mentioned in previous post, I decided to go out for a few beers in Lapa, after leaving the hostel I walked for 5 minutes before I hit the first bar, however I decided to think ahead and went to the end of the road of the bars and started there…there is some logic in there somewhere!!
I have realised that even though travelling alone does have a number of perks, there are a couple of things that I have missed during my time out in South America! These being; having a beer with someone and actually sitting down and having dinner with someone.. it is difficult when you are on your own, however I am glad I have done it for 2 main reasons.
1) I know I am able to do something like this and go travelling on my own anywhere in the world. (I think it would have been easier if i learned the language before I came as I wouldn’t be so reliant on meeting just English speaking people!!)
2) it has made me realise even more that it is no fun drinking alone, regardless of how much you drink! Lol
In hindsight, I would have booked myself into the “party” hostels, and/or slept in a dorm of 12 people as you can always find someone there to have a beer with, and from what i have heard there is something always going on! I think I found it even more difficult in Rio, as 7 of the 9 nights that I would have been in Rio is/was spent in hotels, where it is always difficult to meet people who are travelling on their own!
I think it all does depend on the hostel that you book. I never had any problems in my time at iguasa falls or Buenos Aires. I think the reason being that I was able to meet English speaking ( I know I sound very naive) people within my first night, which made it a lot easier. Coupled with the fact that the hostel in buenos aires actually had activities etc to integrate the people in the hostel!
Anyways thats enough drunken thoughts for the time being, time to get back to serious drinking as the night is still early!!

Leave a comment